Weekly Review – Week 6

Here we are, at the end of Week 6 with just two more weeks to go. The Belly Off! program has been great and I’m very happy with my results. Not only physical, but the mental results as well. Even when I had a seemingly rough week this week, I’m still motivated to keep moving forward and am not really discouraged at all. I really believe that I now posses the tools needed to continue living a healthy lifestyle.

So, why a rough week? I don’t honestly know, but it just seemed like I was operating on cruise control and that made it seem like I had a bad week to me. I did all the exercises and the Bodyweight 350 + Bodyweight 100 challenge on the weekend. I ate pretty good as far as I could tell, though I did increase the amount I was eating a bit because I thought I might not have been eating enough previously. I’ll talk more about that in the food section.

Looking back, it wasn’t as bad of a week as I have thought. I did the exercises, still ate good foods and got out for a great walk with my oldest son and our dog out at the Cleveland Metroparks, which is a beautiful area to go walking/jogging/cycling in.

Another good sign was that I put on a suit I haven’t worn in a while to lector this week and I had to take it off and change suits. It looked HUGE on me. And I know I was a bit lighter when I bought the suit a few years ago but this program has re-shaped my body to the point that a suit I used to look real good in now looks like crap on me. And all my pants/jeans are falling off. So it’s time to go shopping I guess.

Overall

I guess I covered quite a bit in the opening, so I won’t go into too much detail here. As much as I have it in my head that this was not a good week, when I look back at what I did I can’t honestly feel that way. I think a big part of that feeling is that this has become a way of life now instead of being new. That shift in perception is probably the difference. Something that seems routine doesn’t have the same feeling to me as something new and exciting. But taking the time each week to reflect on the previous week really gives me time to realize that I’m still chugging along doing all the right things. So I guess it’s good that this is only an 8 week program because not only does the body adapt and get used to routine, apparently so does the mind.

Food

As I was saying earlier, I think the food is what messed me up the most this week. Why? Well, I have just been eating sensibly, using portion control and choosing natural foods. I haven’t been keeping track of my calorie intake or my nutrient ratios. I’m doing this because I’ve been a fiend before during my weight loss kicks. I’d measure everything, plot everything, analyze everything. That wasn’t sustainable and in the long run, it was more work than anything should have been. So with this program, I’m just trying to be sensible and not get too involved in the numbers.

That said, I started playing with how much food I eat last week. I had it in my mind that I might not be eating enough so I added an extra fruit or protein to my meals. I did not do this based on any hard facts, just a guess. It turns out, I probably should have kept track of my food for awhile before deciding to increase my calories. Making changes without knowing your baseline is probably not a good thing to do. I have no idea what my daily calorie requirements are, no idea how many I was eating and no idea how many I increased it by.

Because of my results this week, I’m going to actually keep track of my calories for a week. I’ll figure out my BMR and see where I’m coming in at the end of the week. Using that information, I’ll be better prepared to make any tweaks to what I’m eating instead of just guessing. I’ll use FitDay to keep track for one week. I’ll go back to how I was eating before this past week and use that as my base. Knowledge is power, it’s time to get some knowledge.

Exercise

I’m really enjoying being active. My time at the gym is a welcome break from my day and the workouts are still challenging enough. I added some weights to the workouts two weeks ago and feel I need heavier weights now. I checked out the price on a weight vest and WOW, they’re expensive. I think Dick’s wanted $130 for a vest that can go up to 70 pounds. I’ll stick with what I have for now.

I finally got my chin-up bar and I definitely need to do more work on that. I started using the assisted pull-up machine at the gym after my Tuesday & Friday intervals, but it’s a whole different game when you’re working on bar hung in your door. The kids like hanging from it and have tried a few pull-ups themselves and so has my wife. I think this entire change is starting to rub off on the family.

As I mentioned in a previous post this past week, I’m going to be changing up my intervals. The treadmill just seems too easy so I’ll be adding in the rower, stationary bike and maybe the elliptical.

As I get more fit, I keep looking for things to do. So far I’ve decided on the Peddle to the Point bike ride (~70 miles), a Triathlon sprint in July and the Navy Seal Fitness Challenge in May.

Results

So how do the numbers look for this past week? Let me share:

  • Weight – 194 lbs / 88.18 kg (195/88.64)
  • Chest – 39″ / 99.06 cm (39.25/99.7)
  • Waist – 38.75″ / 98.43 cm (39.25/99.7)
  • Biceps – 12.5″ / 31.75 cm (12.25/31.13)
  • Thighs – 22″ / 55.88 cm (22.75/57.79)
  • Calfs – 14.25″ / 36.2 cm (14.5/36.83)
Start to end of Week 6 - FrontStart to end of Week 6 - Side

So while I only lost 1 pound, my measurements continue to go down. This has to mean I’m putting on muscle at the same time I lose the fat, and I’ll take that.

I’m posting from another computer this morning, so I don’t have my pics put together yet. I’ll get those up a bit later today.

Goals for this week

Ok, it’s crunch time. Two weeks to go and 4 pounds to lose to reach my target weight for the 8 week period. So this week I will track my calories using FitDay, get 4 interval sessions in using at least 2 different machines and get one 500M swim in.

By the end of this week, I want to be at 191 pounds, so I’m shooting for a 3 pound week.

Stay tuned, the end is in sight. Of course, the end is really just the beginning of something new.

1 Response to “Weekly Review – Week 6”


  1. 1 Ari February 18, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Sounds like you had a pretty good week by any standard! Keep it up. My wife offered me this pearl of wisdom for the week I lost no weight. She said, “Look at it this way, you didn’t gain any weight either.” At first it may not seem like much, but when you think about the ‘old’ you, she’s right. A stalemate is not a loss by any strech of the imagination. Lastly, I like your attitude. You are doing great and are a real motivation. If you don’t believe me, just look at your photos!


Comments are currently closed.




